Indeed we are currently facing a very strange time. Research suggests that art and creativity are essential during times of stress and uncertainty. They have the power to bring us back to the present moment as well as offer certainty at times of uncertainty. Art and creativity have the power to make us feel good. Exercising our creativity can give us an outlet from our daily routines, helping us express emotions and boost our happiness levels.

Frida Kahlo is a wonderful example of the healing qualities of art: “I am not sick. I am broken. But I am happy as long as I can paint.” Throughout her life it was her artistic practice that allowed her to continue living. She healed through her art.

At the moment, my artistic practice is keeping me sane. I am practicing in some form everyday – see photos below. It’s helping to focus my attention on what is important right now and moves me away from news, social media and a feeling of isolation. I recommend dedicating half an hour to a whole hour of creative practice.

 

 

Not sure where to start with your art and creative practice? See the resources below. Be sure to share your creative adventures.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/13YQ5vaRripQ8saUW56YnOri5V4wjBps1?usp=sharing